THE shortlisted finalists for this year’s prestigious Bangor Business Awards have been revealed following a record number of entries.

Finalists have been announced across the 15 categories including Employee of the Year, Independent Retailer of the Year, Best Creative Initiative, Commitment to the Bangor Community, Bangor’s Company of the Year, Bangor’s Best Takeaway and Hospitality and Tourism.

Other award categories include Professional Business Services Company of the Year, Customer Service Excellence, Family Business of the Year, Best Business Development, Employer of the Year, Independent Retailer of the Year, Sustainable and Environmentally Friendly Business of the Year and Wellbeing in the Workplace.

A record number of entries were received for this year’s competition with the largest number of entries coming in The Emerging Business of the Year category.

Tickets are already selling fast for the gala awards ceremony at the Clandeboye Lodge Hotel, Bangor, on Thursday, October 12, that will be hosted by popular Bangor radio host and presenter Pete Snodden.

The Bangor Business Awards are organised by Bangor Chamber of Commerce and are held in association with The Fusco Group and supported by That Prize Guy and Ards and North Down Council.

The awards are designed to showcase the commitment, resilience, perseverance and innovation demonstrated by the many businesses from across the newly crowned seaside city.

The affiliated partners for this year’s competition that shines a light on Bangor’s finest businesses are the Clandeboye Lodge Hotel, the County Down Spectator, Blue Monkee Media and Callow Event Management. 

This year’s awards’ entries were carefully analysed by a panel of judges including John Keane, chief executive officer of creative advertising and marketing agency Ardmore, and Brenda Buckley, commercial director of leading business magazine Business Eye. Also on the judging panel is Glyn Roberts, chief executive of Retail NI and the Mayor of Ards and North Down Council Jennifer Gilmour.

This year’s category sponsors includes Tileworks, That Prize Guy, Foot Clinic NI, Bloomfield Traders Association, North Down Development Organisation, Ards and North Down Council, Wilson Nesbitt Solicitors, Eclectic, Bangor Chamber of Commerce and The Fusco Group.

Jonathan Fusco, general manager of The Fusco Group, said the group is proud to partner with the Bangor Business Awards to celebrate exceptional achievements for both individuals and businesses within the local area.

“With a vision to make Bangor a more vibrant place to live, work and visit, we share the event’s dedication to innovation and excellence,” he said.

“The Bangor Business Awards are a platform to honour unwavering dedication and innovation and we’re privileged to support this progress.”

Tickets are now on sale and will be allocated on a first come, first served basis. Tickets can be purchased through event organisers Callow Event Management by emailing: Tickets are £100.

Business Awards 2023 shortlist

Hospitality and Tourism sponsored by Tileworks

The Nines

Shelleven House

The Old Inn

Underground Dining

Bangor’s Best Takeaway sponsored by That Prize Guy

Auntie Anne’s Pretzels

Cargo Coffee

The Frying Squad

The Smoothie Factory

Professional Business Services Company of the Year sponsored by Foot Clinic NI

Hamilton Morris Waugh

FN Research

Claymore Digital

Daly Clean Ltd

Ivyhill Digital

Customer Service Excellence, Multiple Retailer sponsored by Bloomfield Traders Association

Goldsmiths Jewellers

The Frying Squad

Tiles Wood Floor NI Ltd

Oasis Travel

Emerging Business of the Year sponsored by North Down Development Organisation

Amour Flooring

Flatpack Man

Ion Repair & Engineering

Gifted Enterprise

Bangor Eats Ltd

API – Wear

The Grand Social

Ivyhill Digital

Family Business of the Year sponsored by Ards & North Down Borough Council

Summerhill Residential Home

Tiles Wood Floor NI Ltd

The Fusco Group

McGimpsey Brothers Removals Ltd

Robinson Goldsmiths

Helen’s Bay Dental

Best Business Development sponsored by Wilson Nesbitt

FN Research

Bearing Basement – ND Bearings Ltd

Open House Festival Ltd



Robinson Goldsmiths

Fusco Vehicle Sales

Employer of the Year

Kilcooley Women’s Centre

Momentum Group

Caremark NI

Mango Direct Marketing

Independent Retailer of the Year

Robinson Goldsmiths

Telford Opticians & Hearing Centre

Windmill Guitars Ltd

Tileworks NI Ltd

Best Creative Initiative

Music Bugs North Down

The Frying Squad


Tiles Wood Floor NI Ltd

Alex Mellon Kinesiology

Employee of the Year

DV8 Fashion Bloomfield – Laurie Marks-Cooper

The Fying Squad – Maureen Maguire

Mango Direct Marketing – June Cowan

Momentum Group – Kim McClelland

Seafresh NI Ltd – Stuart Brown

Sustainable & Environmentally Friendly Business of the Year

Behind the Stable Door

Bloomfield Shopping Centre

Ballyboley Dexters

Seafresh NI Ltd


Wellbeing in the Workplace sponsored by Eclectic

Caremark NI

McGimpsey Brothers Removals Ltd

Uhub Therapy Centre

FN Research Ltd

Commitment to the Bangor Community sponsored by Bangor Chamber of Commerce

Bangor FC

Caremark NI


Bangor Tyre Company

Mango Direct Marketing

Shelleven  House

Bangor’s Company of the Year sponsored by The Fusco Group

Open House Festival Ltd

Faceware Science

Wolsey’s Bangor

Cargo Coffee

Tiles Wood Floor NI Ltd

Mango Direct Marketing