WHITESPOTS Trial Park, outside Newtownards, recently hosted the annual Christmas Charity Trial.

Organised by Moto Trial NI, the event saw riders and officials dressed in festive outfits as they raced around the Conlig complex in an event that raised money for the charity, Shine UK which helps families who have children with spina bifida and hydrocephalus.

Almost 60 riders signed up for a testing eight section course, set out by Andy Perry and Ryan Sailes, which the riders had to tackle over four laps.

In the premier grade, Clubman Elite, Desy Leckey took the win on three marks lost , with Stuart Lappin in the runners up spot and Phillip McClurg in third.

The main Clubman grade was a close run affair with five riders within three marks of each other at the half way stage. The winner was Aaron Wright who finished on 18 marks lost, closely followed by Lee Burns on 21, and Alan Young and Gary Kernoghan tied on 25 marks, with Alan taking third by furthest clean.

In the combined class of Clubman twinshock and air cooled mono that caters for the older bikes Jamie Chambers took the win on his Beamish Suzuki from Che McStay on his Beta.

The Sportsman Elite class saw the onl;y perfect score where Mark Scott rode clean, not dropping any marks through the whole day. Robbie Jennings kept him pushed though by only dropping two marks to take second, with Nigel Mowbray third on nine marks lost.  

The best supported grade was the Sportsman grade with over 20 riders taking part.  Local road race ace Ryan Farquhar took the win from Ian Cochrane by way of furthest clean, as both riders only dropped one mark all day. Third home was Lee Stevenson.

In the combined Sportsman Elite Twinshock and air cooled mono grade George Robinson took the win from Andy Higgins on 14

In the Novice grade, Ken Stewart guided his wonderful 1950s Matchless round the course for a loss of only 10 marks. Second home was Kyle McClean on 14 marks lost and taking the bragging rights from Dad Chris who came home in fourth, with TJ Agnew sandwiched between father and son.

In the Youth grades Kyle Hewitt took the win unopposed in the A grade.  Sophie Coulter was well ahead of the pack in Youth B to take the win on nine marks lost with Jenny Crawford winning Youth C.

In Youth D the youngest competitor, Noah Barr, took the win on his tiny Oset electric bike.